‚Äč

Are workers entitled to a break when working an 8-hour shift?

Answer

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act does not require employers to provide paid or unpaid breaks for workers. Some states provide their own rules governing worker meal and rest breaks, according to the Department of Labor website.

States that require a meal break as of 2014 include California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington and West Virginia.

According to the Nolo Network, in 2014 only eight states require rest breaks. Those states are California, Colorado, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont and Washington. Special meal and rest break requirements exist in some states for workers who are under the age of 18.

Q&A Related to "Are workers entitled to a break when working..."
Depends on the state. Most states dont require you to get a break if you are ONLY 4.5 hours. The only states that do have them are as follows: California: Employees must get a 10-
https://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20...
In California if you reach Hour 6 then you MUST (sorry for shouting) take a 30 minute break whether you want to take a break or not. Neither you nor your employer get a choice. Your
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=201111...
Not Legal Advice: As an adult worker (over 18) you will normally have the right to a 20-minute rest break if you are expected to work more than 6 hours. report this answer. Updated
http://www.kgbanswers.co.uk/i-work-8-and-a-half-ho...
It differs by company, normally 15 minutes in the morning, 15 minutes in the afternoon and either 30 or 60 minutes for lunch.
http://www.blurtit.com/q9383643.html
About -  Privacy -  Your Cookie Choices  -  Careers -  About P.G. Wodehouse -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 IAC Search & Media