What Type of Government Does the UK Have?


Ask.com Answer for: what type of government does the uk have
The Government of The United Kingdom
Conventional Name: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; Great Britain includes England, Scotland, and Wales
Government Type: constitutional monarchy and Commonwealth realm
Voting Age: 18 years of age; universal
Chief: Queen Elizabeth II
Head: Prime Minister David Cameron
Legislature: bicameral Parliament consists of House of Lords (618 seats; consisting of approximately 500 life peers, 92 hereditary peers, and 26 clergy) and House of Commons (646 seats since 2005 elections; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year
1 Additional Answer
The government of United Kingdom rules Britain including England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The government sits in the parliament and is headed by Prime Minister. Britain has a Monarchy and the Queen acts as the head of the state but her role is ceremonial and the queen has no real power.
Q&A Related to "What Type of Government Does the UK Have"
Spain currently has a Parliamentary democracy and Constitutional monarchy as the form of government. Spain's king is Juan Carlos I and Prime Minister is Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero
The UK has a monarchy which includes a Queen; however, the Parliament makes the most decisions regarding the country
A republic is a governmental system in which the citizens of the country elect representatives to make and pass laws, along with enforcing those laws. Republics are often mistakenly
The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy and unitary
Explore this Topic
The primary types of governments today are democracies and Communist governments. There are also parliamentary governments. There are some monarchies and limited ...
The type of government that the country of Egypt has is a republic type of government. The official name of the government of Egypt is the Arab Republic of Egypt ...
The types of governments are authoritarian include autocracies and monarchies. Authoritarian types of government also include theocracies. Despotism is also considered ...
About -  Privacy -  Your Cookie Choices  -  Careers -  About P.G. Wodehouse -  Articles -  Help -  Feedback © 2014 IAC Search & Media