Who is the president of Germany?


Ask.com Answer for: who is the president of germany
Leaders of Germany
Chief: President Joachim Gauck
Head: President of the Bundesrat Stephan Weil
The parliament has one chamber: the Bundestag, elected for a four-year term. the Bundesrat, or Federal Council, represents the regions and is not considered a chamber as its members are not elected.
1 Additional Answer

After being elected, Gauck was sworn into the position on March 23, 2012, before members of parliament. Gauck is the 11th federal president to move into the position's official residence, the Bellevue Palace. He is a former Lutheran pastor who made a name for himself as an anti-communism activist in East Germany.

In Germany, presidents serve for 5 years and can only be re-elected once; the terms must be served consecutively.

Q&A Related to "Who is the president of Germany?"
The current president of Germany is Horst Kohler and the Chancellor is Angela Merkel. Horst Kohler is a member of the Christian Democratic Union and assumed office on July 1, 2004.
Christian Wulff has been the president of germany for a long time.
In 1947, the president of the United States was Harry S Truman. Truman served from April 12, 1945 until January 20, 1953. He was the 33rd president.
The current president of Russia is President Dmitriy Anatolyevich Medvedev. I don't know about you but that is a mouth full for a name.
Explore this Topic
Germany is a Federal Republic, as the states retain certain powers of self-government. The Head of State is a President, but this position is largely ceremonial. ...
Article 48 of the Weimar Republic of Germany (1919-1933) constitution, under certain circumstances, allowed the president to take emergency measures, such as promulgation ...
Senta Berger is based in Germany. She is one of the most revered actresses in Germany and Austria; she had massive success in Hollywood. Senta has been the president ...
About -  Privacy -  Your Cookie Choices  -  Careers -  About P.G. Wodehouse -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 IAC Search & Media